News‎ > ‎

Raymond Slatcher Memorial Trophy vs Ilkley

posted 2 Mar 2016, 12:42 by Andrew Zigmond


1 Mark Rogerson 1-0 Paul Pritchard

2 Chris Wright 1-0 Mark Daley

3 Nick Hudson 0-1 Brian Coop

4 David Adam 0-1 Michael Johnson

5 Lee Crawford 0-1 David Harasym

6 Barry Taylor ½-½ Andrew Zigmond

7 William Boothman 1-0 Richard Tate

8 Stuart Johnson 1-0 Ranyl Hughes

9 Peter Ward 1-0 Margaret Rowley

The 14th annual match between Harrogate and Ilkley, played to contest a trophy donated in memory of the late Raymond Slatcher who did much to foster links between the two clubs, was held at Ilkley on Tuesday 1st March.

Ilkley had the stronger team on paper and took first blood when Stuart Johnson defeated Ranyl Hughes. My game ended in a draw soon after which allowed me to watch the play develop on the other boards. Everything seemed fairly even, especially in the heavyweight clashes on the higher boards, and I wondered if Harrogate just might be able to pull it off.

It wasn’t to be. Mark Daley went down for Harrogate on board 2 and shortly after Mark Rogerson won the top board clash to put Ilkley 3 ½-½ up. Michael Johnson, in his Harrogate debut, finished off David Adam with a neat consolidating tactic to pull one back but Peter Ward outwitted Margaret Rowley in a king and pawn endgame to ensure Ilkley of at least a draw.

By now it was fairly obvious that Ilkley skipper Will Boothman’s attack was going to come through and sure enough he shortly clinched the match for his team. That left two boards still in play and Brian Coop rescued Harrogate’s dignity with a fine performance, forcing a pawn through in an even position and deftly neutralising his opponent’s counterplay. On board five David Harasym and Lee Crawford had fought a nervous tactical game. David was now a piece up but had to navigate the time scramble when Lee generously resigned rather than force his opponent to win with forty five seconds left.

As always the match was played in excellent spirit and afterwards we enjoyed refreshments provided by our hosts. The score in the series now stands at seven wins apiece with the lead changing hands several times over the years.

Andrew Zigmond