News‎ > ‎

Harrogate Junior Chess Tournament 24/3/2018

posted 25 Mar 2018, 14:48 by Andrew Zigmond   [ updated 25 Mar 2018, 14:55 ]
The Harrogate & District Primary Schools Chess Association (HDPSCA) held their annual tournament on Saturday 24th of March at St Aidan's School. Several members of the Harrogate Chess Club supervised on the day and HCC Chairman Andrew Zigmond presented the prizes at the end of the day.

The winners were as follows;

Year 6 1st Tom Osborne (Harrogate Junior Chess Club) 2nd= Finlay McCreanor & Ollie Poyser-Senior (both HJCC)
Year 5 1st Edward Evans (HJCC) 2nd= Thomas Bentley (HJCC) & Louis Mills (HJCC)
Year 4 1st Penelope McCreanor (HJCC) 2nd= Jacob Kell & Archie Sculthorp (both Oatlands)
Year 3 and under 1st Dylan Mawhinney (Richard Taylor) 2nd= David Ther (HJCC) & Jacob Turnbull (Oatlands)

Harrogate Junior Chess Club won the Trumper cup for best school with Oatlands school second.

Book prizes were awarded for best girl (Penelope McCreanor), best mate (Georgina Scott) and best game (Tom Osborne). The Harrogate & District is a registered charity promoting primary school chess in the area. More details can be found on their website

The photograph below shows Mick Stokes (chairman HDPSCA) and Andrew Zigmond (chairman HCC) at the prizegiving.

Image may contain: 4 people, people standing and indoor