News‎ > ‎

Aubrey Spalton Memorial Trophy 2013

posted 27 Apr 2013, 13:08 by Andrew Zigmond

The fourteenth Aubrey Spalton Memorial match between Harrogate and York took place at York Railway Institute on 25th April 2013. Due to organisational difficulties on both sides the match was only played on 12 boards this year but the match was still keenly fought.

York drew first blood on board 5 before Margaret Rowley struck back to level the scores; incredibly this would prove to be Harrogate’s only win. A trio of draws followed at which point the pace of the match slowed. York regained the lead and went two ahead when a horrendously complicated struggle on board 2 ended in York’s favour. After that a succession of York victories in close positions followed and by the time Stuart Johnson scored a highly credible draw against a higher rated opponent and Brian Coop split the point after a pair of mutual blunders in time trouble the match was over.

Thus York added to their commanding lead in the series; they have eleven wins to one with two draws. York excelled themselves as hosts with an excellent buffet and it is hoped that with a bit more notice the match will be restored to its twenty board glory next season.

The full result was as follows;


1 Paul Hopwood 1-0 Mick Stokes

2 Richard Allis 1-0 Steve Revell

3 Richard Hardy ½-½ Brian Coop

4 Paul Barber ½-½ Stuart Johnson

5 Arron Barker 1-0 Jim Postill

6 Paul Johnson 1-0 Andrew Zigmond

7 Adam Ismail ½-½ Peter Gregory

8 Noel Stewart 1-0 Gordon Marks

9 David Smith ½-½ Richard White

10 David Short 1-0 Richard Tate

11 Steve Jennings 0-1 Margaret Rowley

12 Sid Kirby ½-½ Scott Reichert