News‎ > ‎

Aubrey Spalton Memorial Trophy

posted 21 Apr 2017, 10:13 by Andrew Zigmond
Eleven players on each side contested the 18th annual match with York, played in memory of the late Aubrey Spalton. York were hoping to regain the trophy after Harrogate's surprise win last year and turned out a solid team that on paper looked difficult for Harrogate to beat. However the match was close and ultimately hinged on the last board to finish.

Cameron Funnell was making his Spalton match debut and was the first on the scoreboard with a draw against an experienced opponent. After that York began to notch up the wins as their greater strength on the top boards told, although all games were full of fight. Harrogate finally scored their first win when Richard White played impressively to overcome one of the bigger individual grading deficits.

There were two other Harrogate wins, both came in the closing stages of the match and both merit mention. Eleven year old Max Parkhouse was the other Harrogate debutante and played impressively to win his first game against experienced adult opposition. At the other end of the board order Mick Stokes kept his nerve to defeat York skipper Richard Hardy in the time scramble.

York's victory was their 14th from 18 matches, Harrogate have won 2 with 2 matches drawn.

(Harrogate players first)
1 Mick Stokes 1-0 Richard Hardy
2 Brian Coop 0-1 Joel Wagg
3 David Harasym 0-1 Paul Johnson
4 Michael Johnson 0-1 Joshua Fernandez
5  Gordon Marks 0-1 Paul Barber
6 Andrew Zigmond 0-1 Barry Marshall
7 Richard White 1-0 Tom Leah
8 Cameron Funnell 1/2-1/2 Adam Ismael
9 Richard Tate 1/2-1/2 Neville Pearce
10 Margaret Rowley 1/2-1/2 Bob Maltby
11 Max Parkhouse 1-0 Mick Beavers
HARROGATE 4 1/2 YORK 6 1/2